possibly the best holiday scones, ever…

November 19, 2008


2 2/3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1/3 cup brown sugar, not packed + extra for sprinkling
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp allspice
4 tbsp vegan shortening cold
4 tbsp earth’s balance cold
3/4 cup soy/nut/rice milk
2 tbsp molasses

Preheat oven to 375 – *side note here* my oven runs hot, typically 25-50 degrees hot depending on it’s mood haha, so you may need to make adjustments on temp or time for this recipe. Lightly grease a cookie sheet. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl with a fork or a wisk. Cut in EB and shortening until mixture is crumbly. Add milk and molasses and stir with a spoon until batter is blended and a dough forms. It will be sticky. Pour all of the dough into the center of the cookie sheet round and flatten it until its about an inch or so thick, a little more or a little less is okay. Sprinkle with brown sugar and bake for approximately 15 minutes. Yours may need more time, check by inserting a toothpick into the center. Cut into wedges and serve. These are soo good when they are warm and just as good when they have cooled. Enjoy them with someone you love for the holidays!

3 Responses to “possibly the best holiday scones, ever…”

  1. Vegannifer Says:

    Looks delicious! I never met a scone I didn’t like.

  2. Sara Says:

    Hooo Doggy! These look DE-LISH!!!! I love that combination of flavors! Cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice….all the greats! And I’m with Jennifer…I don’t think I’ve met a scone I didn’t like either! And all the great health benefits of molasses… I think I might be starting a wintertime love affair with molasses.

  3. Christina Says:

    Oh man, those look amazing! And I have all the ingredients lying around, too, except for the shortening. Which means I pretty much HAVE to make them.

    I wonder how this would taste with raisins or dates in it? I’m totally going to play around with this.


Leave a Reply

