Happy Birthday Baby!

November 19, 2008

Today is my baby’s first birthday. I can’t believe that she is already a year old. Where does the time go? We had her party this weekend. The cakes came out beautiful and tasted better than they looked. I made the yellow cake recipe that I tested earlier in the week with a vanilla version of the frosting and I also made a raspberry blackout cake from Vegan With A Vengeance. Along with the cakes, which are of course the best part of the birthday party next to the presents, I made the holiday spinach dip from vegweb. I 86’d the water chestnuts and added artichoke hearts and I also made hummus (my own recipe and I’ll post it if someone requests). I was thinking of making seitan sausages for the grill, but I didn’t have the time so I went with the tofurkey sausages and Boca burgers. No one could believe the spinach dip was vegan and everyone loved it so much that the sides of the bread bowl were scraped clean. Kadence loved the frosting so much she was licking it off her arms hahaha. It was pretty cute. The theme for her birthday was Tinker Bell and I had fun decorating the cake.

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday Baby!”

  1. niftymom Says:

    The cakes were WONDERFUL. I of course snagged a few bites of the chocolat cake when Jon was eating it and OMG I love the rasp. jam in the middle! And of course I’m hooked on those “suasages”, I went and bought some today, yummm. Oh and I so request the recipe for the hummus, it was very yummy 😀

  2. Vegannifer Says:

    She is a doll! Happy Birthday, Kadence! Great job on that beautiful cake!

  3. Anna Says:

    The cake looks amazing! Happy Birthday, Kadence!


Leave a Reply

