be afraid, be very afraid…

November 13, 2008

I risked it all and I tried the Follow Your Heart cheddar cheeze. I was scared, I admit it. It smells funky, it’s kinda rubbery and it’s really orange. It says that it melts right on the package and it did, it melted pretty well. Let’s just say that it didn’t taste as good as it looked. It kind of reminded me of the over processed cheese that you used to get in the school cafeteria. It wasn’t horrible, but I can honestly say, I will not be making any more vegan cheeze ventures. I’ve been happy without it and I think I like it that way. At least I can say I tried it. I also tried the Follow You Heart sour cream and I can say that I did not like it nearly as much as I like the Tofutti brand. Here is the casserole before I cut into it and before I scraped off the cheeze.

Too bad the cheeze didn’t taste as good as it looked. The casserole was amazing and definitley a keeper. I found the recipe on vegweb. The Omni even liked it. I did add chipotle pepper to the mixture because we like it spicy over here and it turned out really yummy! Next time, I’ll forgo the cheeze and stick to the Tofutti sour cream. Eh, you live and you learn.

6 Responses to “be afraid, be very afraid…”

  1. jessy Says:

    we found the same thing with the FYH cheddar – it was just kinda “meh”. sorry you didn’t care for it much either. i agree – tastes kinda overly processed or something. the tortilla casserole looks awesome though. i’m gonna have to give that a try! we love to make the cheeze sauce frmo susan v.’s recipe and spice it up a bit for some things (adding in cayenne pepper, chili powder, a little cumin, etc.) – that seems to be yummy – and it’s pretty easy to make, too! it’s a sauce you can thicken up more if you need to as well. mmmmmm!

  2. Jonas Says:

    I wouldn’t give up on vegan cheese just yet. The FYH cheddar is definitely their worst flavor! The mozzarella is their best. And if you can get Teese where you are, their mozzarella is even better.

  3. Vegannifer Says:

    If you haven’t tried Follow Your Heart cream cheese, don’t bother. Like their sour cream, their cream cheese isn’t nearly as good as Tofutti’s.

    Glad you like the casserole despite the cheese. Maybe a cheezy sauce would work out well?

  4. niftymom Says:

    It looks yummy (without the cheese). I’ll hav eto try this out.
    I can’t believe how I could eat chunks of Velveeta cheese and stuff like that pre-vegan. I think everything I ate was just a yucky pile of processed food 😛

  5. Anna Says:

    Hey, at least it LOOKS good!

  6. miss v Says:

    i have a hard time getting the FYH cheezes to melt or taste all that great. there is a pizza restaurant in town that uses their mozzarella, and it tastes good there. i dont know what i’m doing wrong!

    i’ve found that raw cheese taste pretty good – the kind with blended up almonds and tahini taste like a tangy mozzarella to me.


Leave a Reply

