sounded good at the time…

November 12, 2008

The other night, I still wasn’t feeling well and I had this brilliant idea that I’d try a new raw dish, since I wasn’t really hungry and something light seemed like a good idea. I was wrong, so very wrong. Note to self: never try new raw dishes when ill. I was sooo sick. The thing is, the dish was really good, going down… You don’t want the rest of the gory details. I used a summer squash that I shredded to look like spaghetti and made a raw cashew, tomato “cheese” sauce that was really good. Needless to say, I think that dish is ruined for me, forever.

On a lighter note, Kadence’s first birthday party is this weekend. I can’t believe that she’s going to be one already. I’m still trying to figure out what we are going to serve for food. I will be making a vanilla cake and a raspberry blackout cake, so the important part is figured out already haha! Nate wants burgers and hotdogs, blech. I’m going to have Boca Burgers and Tofurkey Sausages for the vegans of the group. Nate offered to cook our stuff first so that we don’t have cross-contamination, how nice of him. Can you hear the sarcasm over here? Everything else will be vegan and he doesn’t have a say in it. She who cooks, makes the decisions and I’m not making anything with animal flesh or dairy. He is manning the grill, so I can’t really use that rule and not apply it to him as well. I’m definitely going to make hummus and I’m thinking of trying out a spinach dip I found on vegweb. I think with the cake and stuff from the grill we should be good. If not, tough shiitake.

3 Responses to “sounded good at the time…”

  1. Vegannifer Says:

    Hooray for first birthday parties! I can’t believe I’m already looking toward my daughter’s second!

    That raspberry blackout cake is fabulous. I know everyone will seriously enjoy it!

  2. roo Says:

    For parties I always make corn dog “cupcakes.” No one can ever tell they are tofu dogs! You should try them. They are super cute!

    http://aveganparadise.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/jalepeno-corn-dog-cup-cakes/

  3. niftymom Says:

    We can’t wait to see the birthday girl!

    Also on the spinach dip side, the Knorr ( I think it is) spinach dip pack with Veganese and Tofuti sour cream is really yummy and quick. I tried the homemade sour cream from Mooswood lodge and it tasted kind of funky. Just a suggestion if you all ever wanted a “quick” version.

    I do hope you are feeling better.


Leave a Reply

