cravings, erotica and chocolate frosting

November 10, 2008

Yesterday was one of those days where I did not want to do anything. I’m still nursing this nasty cold. It’s funny because I always end up baking when I’m sick. For some reason I crave chocolate. KK’s first birthday party is this weekend and I also needed to test one more cake recipe so I figured, hey, why not? The Omni, bless his meat lovin’ heart, took the kids outside to play for the afternoon and gave me the house to myself for a few hours. I’ve been hunting for a really good yellow cake recipe and I’ve found a few with mixed reviews. I just decided to pick one and go with it. I’ve already discovered the perfect chocolate cake recipe in the raspberry blackout cake from Vegan with a Vengeance and I wanted a yellow or vanilla cake to accompany it. I went with the Shmooed Food’s Fluffy White Cupcake recipe, doubled it and poured it in two cake pans. I baked them for 35-40 minutes and they came out perfect. Also, I didn’t have coconut extract so I subbed almond extract. I could taste the almond in the cake so I think next time I’ll just omit that. I have to say, this cake came out perfect. It was light, fluffy and exactly the right consistency. I really didn’t want a very dense cake. I wanted it like a regular birthday cake and I was not disappointed. For KK’s cake, I’ll do buttercream icing, but I was craving chocolate yesterday so I whipped up my own frosting.
Frosting
3 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp corn starch
3/4 cup earth’s balance room temp
1 tsp vanilla
4 oz toffutti cream cheese room temp

Using an electric mixer, whip margarine, cream cheese and vanilla until smooth. In a seperate bowl add dry ingredients and wisk together well. Add dry ingredients to wet in small batches using the electric mixer and scraping down the sides peridoically. Whip until smooth and fluffy. Chill for a few hours before frosting cake.

So, while I was waiting for my cake to cool and my frosting to set, I took a small bowl of frosting, Mona Lisa Craving by Sunny and sat on my couch for an hour or so. It felt so good to have an hour to myself and what could be better than erotica and chocolate frosting?

2 Responses to “cravings, erotica and chocolate frosting”

  1. Vegannifer Says:

    Thanks for the tip on the cake and the frosting recipe. I love yellow cake with chocolate frosting! It’s the best!

  2. niftymom Says:

    That was soooooo yummy. I’m still waiting for Hubby to try the chocolat one so I can snag a bite. But it was very good, we had fun at party. Punkyroo wont stop singing Happy Birthday!LOL


Leave a Reply

