Dishes from the farmer’s market

November 3, 2008

I went to a local farmer’s market and bought some produce the other day. I got some zucchini, golden nugget squash, acorn squash, tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, peaches, rasperries and apples. I was wondering what I should do with all of this. For me, sometimes there is nothing better than a few uninterrupted hours in the kitchen. Cooking is like therapy. I banish everyone from the kitchen and usually I end up with way too much food, but I always feel relaxed and content after a nice long cooking session. Yesterday was one of those days for me. I started off by making Spicy Italian Sausage. It came out mighty tasty. I wanted to use it in pasta dish, but I couldn’t find a recipe that really appealed to me. I took the idea of Susan’s pumpkin and black bean casserole and altered it to fit the ingredients I had on hand. The end result was really good and I surprised myself. It came out more like a lasagna, which was what I was going for. Here’s what I changed in Susan’s recipe –

1 1/2 chopped spicy italian seitan sausage
1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4  teaspoon chipotle chile powder
15 ounces canned tomatoes, drained – liquid reserved

3 good sized zucchini sliced lengthwise

1/2 cup soymilk
4 oz tofutti cream cheese softened
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon Spanish paprika

In a large bowl, combine the sausage through tomato and set aside.

Preheat oven to 400 F. Lightly oil an 8×8 glass baking dish. Line the bottom with 1/3 of the zucchini slices. Cover with half of the sausage mix and repeat another layer of zucchini and sausage mix finishing with last of the zucchini slices.

Pour soy milk into medium sized bowl, add corn starch and wisk until blended. Add reserved tomato juice, cream cheese, salt and paprika and wisk until it’s a little foamy. Pour over casserole, cover with foil and bake for about 30 minutes. It should be nice and bubbly and zucchini should be tender. Remove foil and bake for an additonal 10 minutes.

Now that dinner was out of the way, I decided to make a cobbler with all of those lucious peaches I bought. I used Isa’s recipe from her PPK blog. I threw in 2 apples for good measure and it was really good. If you haven’t tried this recipe and you have some apples or peaches just laying around, get off your vegan butt and make this! You won’t regret it. I halved the sugar with agave nectar and subbed nutmeg for the allspice.

One Response to “Dishes from the farmer’s market”

  1. Mihl Says:

    Your casserole / lasagna looks great! And of course I will try the cobbler recipe, thanks for the review.


Leave a Reply

