VeganMofo: The Last Supper

October 31, 2008

 

Well, not really, but it’s my last veganmofo post and it’s all about holiday food. I decided to test a few recipes for Thanksgiving since this will be my first as vegan. I have to say that not only was I happy with the results, but so was the Omni. He even licked his plate last night. I know, who’d-a-thunk? I was considering testing two recipes for vegan turkey, but the first one came out so well, I think I’ll wait until next year to do the stuffed tofurkey. I did some online research and came across a goldmine of seitan recipes by Bryanna, one of which is a thanksgiving style turkey seitan. It takes time, much like a traditional turkey, but it is so worth the effort. The result was tender and juicy with this amazing flavor. I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted for a stuffing recipe, so I took a few and blended them. The result was really good and very easy.

Apple Hazelnut Stuffing

1 cup carrots, grated
1 cup celery, diced
1 cup diced onion
1 cup diced fresh mushroom
1/4 C earth’s balance (or vegan marg.)
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp sage
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp salt
8 cups cubed bread (I used whole grain, but you could use whatever you have handy)
1 apple chopped
1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth

Preheat oven to 350. Melt the margarine in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the carrots, celery, mushroom and onion until tender, about ten minutes. Stir in the seasoning, pepper and salt. In a large glass baking dish, combine the bread cubes, apples and walnuts, then add the carrot mixture and stir. Add broth and stir until everything is moist. Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Uncover and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

 Gravy

1 clove minced garlic
1 tbsp olive oil
2 1/2 cups Water
1/3 Cup Unbleached All Purpose Flour
1 Cube of veggie boullion
1/2 tsp Sage
1/2 tsp Thyme
1/2 tsp Parsley
1/2 tsp Salt
fresh ground pepper to taste
2 tbsp Bragg’s
In a small sauce pan, lightly brown garlic with oil. Add water and heat to barely boiling then dissolve boullion. Add the remaining seasoning and Bragg’s turning heat to low. Add flour a little at a time using a wisk to blend. This is where I really don’t stick to specifics, I add salt and pepper to taste and maybe a little more water or flour in order to get the desired thickness. My husband loved this gravy and said it tasted almost like the real thing. I use to make a light turkey gravy on Thanksgiving and not the dark brown gravy that others traditional like.
For dessert, I tested two recipes and both came out really yummy. First I made a rustic apple tart that I stole from Vegan Appetite. I can’t rave enough about how simple and delicious this was. I could close my eyes, take a bite and taste autumn. It was so good that the enitre tart is already gone and I just made it yesterday. I did make some substitutions. I replaced the sugar with raw agave nectar, tablespoon for tablespoon and I didn’t have gel, so I used a few tablespoons of flour. Thanksgiving wouldn’t be complete without pumpkin pie. I found a recipe that didn’t include tofu. I’ve had that version in the past and there was a bit of a weird aftertaste. Again, I found a recipe by Bryanna (she certainly knows her shiitake!) and it turned out perfect! I did make both crusts rather than using store bought. I thought I’d try my hand at pastry crust and it was much easier than I thought.
9 Responses to “VeganMofo: The Last Supper”

  1. lazysmurf Says:

    your thanksgiving meal sounds and looks so perfect! WOW! I am so impressed. If you have any leftovers please feel free to bring them over!

  2. Sara Says:

    Mmm…that rustic apple tart looks AMAZING! I think I’m gonna have to steal that recipe as well!! 🙂

    Happy Halloween!!!


  3. This will be my first vegan Thanksgiving too! Love that pie.

  4. niftymom Says:

    That looks very yummy! I love this time in Pumpkin..muffins, pancakes, soup, pie and soon pumpkin butter! I’m going to try this pie and the crust, I’ve been in a kick to try and make staples from scratch lately.

  5. Monique Says:

    That gravy looks good. I’m gonna try it soon.

  6. Susan G Says:

    Those recipes both look great. You have just made some Thanksgiving recipe picking easy for me! I am hosting Thanksgiving this year for the first time ever – I have always avoided it because of the turkey thing. But the omnis are bringing the turkey so I don’t have to deal with it. Sigh – if only we could just avoid the whole thing………..

  7. April Says:

    I’m hoping you check this in the next hour (Sean blocked the forum again and I didn’t write down your number)… I’m in the process of making this right now and have a question about how much liquid is in the broth. 2 cups or 5 cups? And if it is 2 cups, then do you really use 3 cups of “chicken” broth powder?

  8. Heather Says:

    I actually used 2 cups of hot water and 2 vegan “chicken” bullion cubes and then added the herbs and the oil as the recipe called for. Is there a way I can get you my number without posting it here?

  9. April Says:

    Thanks! That’s what I ended up doing. I figured I would start out with that and then add more liquid if needed. Then when I poured it in I figured it was right because I have no idea how more than that would fit. You can email me if you want. april.conaway@gmail.com

    Happy Thanksgiving!!


Leave a Reply

