VeganMofo: Spooky Halloween Dinner

October 27, 2008

We have a tradition here of a Spooky Halloween Dinner and I make a dinner with a spooky theme. The first year we did a corpse loaf, moldy mashed potatoes and nuclear waste punch. Last year I did ghoulash in a pumpkin, monster toes and a graveyard cake. This year I did a fly by the seat of my pants dinner since we decided to take the girls to visit my parents on Halloween night. I made a version of The FatFree Vegan Kitchen’s Pumpkin Black Bean Casserole substituting acorn squash for the pumpkin and it turned out really yummy! I served it with little ghost mashed potatoes. I also made Isa’s pumpkin brownies and they were amazing. The girls loved the batter and the finished product. You have to try both of these recipes!

 

Edited to add: I made all of this with stuff I had in the pantry and a squash I bought last week. I didn’t have to make any special trips!

7 Responses to “VeganMofo: Spooky Halloween Dinner”

  1. Tami Says:

    Cool, creative ideas! Love those little ghosties!

  2. Sanja Says:

    Aw, you’re halloween treats all look so cute! Eh, I mean, scary! 😉

  3. melisser Says:

    Aww, I love the face! Sounds tasty!

  4. SusanV Says:

    I love the ghosts! I think I’m going to steal your idea of a Halloween-themed dinner; we’ve got an extra ghoul coming over on Friday, and if I fill them up before trick-or-treating, it might be just the thing to keep them from eating too much candy.

  5. Bethany Says:

    love the super cute brownie. mashed potato ghosts are really cool. wish my mom had made us cool halloween dinners.


  6. How lovely! I’m a big fan of mashed potato ghosts and yours are just precious! The pumpkin brownies look so beautiful and delicious!

  7. Kiersten Says:

    I love the little mashed potato ghosts!


Leave a Reply

