VeganMofo: Broccoli Lentil Casserole

October 23, 2008

It’s been rough living out of the pantry, not for me, but for the Omni. I keep hearing that there’s nothing to eat, blah, blah, blah. And yet, there is chili, cookie dough, seitan o’greatness, spice cake, casserole, fruit, veggies, seeds, nuts and I could go on. For me, I look and think there is so much to eat, where do I start? But the king of processed foods, especially meats blech, says there is nothing to eat. No, there isn’t a bunch of shiitake in the fridge or pantry. It won’t kill him to eat something healthy, although according to him, he’s dying of starvation.

I snagged a lentil recipe from a message board I belong to and kinda changed it up. The end result was really good and I will definitley make this again. Here’s what I did –

Casserole
1 c lentils
1 c brown rice
2 cups frozen broccoli florets
1/2 of a chopped onion
1/4 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp salt
two cloves minced garlic
3 c vegetable broth

Mix everything but the broccoli in a 9×13 glass baking dish, pour the liquid in and stir well. Add the broccoli, cover with foil, and bake at 350 for about 50 minutes. Once most of the liquid is absorbed, uncover and add breading then bake uncovered for another 10 minutes. Taste the rice before adding topping to check and see if it’s tender enough, if it’s not, add about 1/2 cup of water and bake for another 15 minutes. Everyone’s oven is different and I think mine runs hot, so things tend to cook faster.

Breading
2 slices of stale crusty bread
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons chilled Earth’s Balance or like
1/4 teaspoon thyme

Blend until crumbly in a food processor or blender and sprinkle liberally over the top of casserole. The original recipe calls for it to be served with a little sourcream on top. I had some tofutti and it was pretty good!

Oh and on a a very positive note, the Omni and I sent in our absentee ballots. You bet your ass we voted for Obama and it felt great.

7 Responses to “VeganMofo: Broccoli Lentil Casserole”

  1. k Says:

    i’m trying to live out of the pantry too, and for this i think i only need to get broccoli, perfect!

  2. Sanja Says:

    I’m trying to live out of my pantry too, but I’m doing it for such a long time now (so, I really was a good thing I started, haha) that I’m kinda sick of it…

    Your casserole looks really tasty!


  3. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!!
    I’m so going to make this and I have everything I need already in the house! is that sweeeet or what!
    Thanks for the recipe.
    🙂

  4. jessy Says:

    what a creative and pretty casserole! lentils + broccoli = super yum! hooray for a rock’n meal, and hooray for Obama!

  5. Kiersten Says:

    This sounds good, I love anything with broccoli in it. I may have to try this.

  6. Monique Says:

    That sounds really good!

  7. Bethany Says:

    Looks delicious. The breading is perfection. My pantry is a mess. thankfully there isn’t a pantry tagging going on. I would hate to take pics of mine now.


Leave a Reply

