VeganMofo: A Lazy Weekend from the Pantry

October 19, 2008

We are all still recovering over here. This cold was a nasty one and we’re all still dealing with the effects. In spite of all that, we’ve had a pretty good weekend living out of our pantry. I’ll get right to the nitty gritty.


Friday night I made this addicting carmel corn from Horray Vegan. I volunteered to test some recipes and I’m so glad I did! I’ll be making this for the kids Green Halloween party next weekend. When I say it was good, it’s a huge understatement. I could not stay away from it. I kept going to the kitchen to get a handful.


Yesterday I made a version of black bean and roasted corn chili that I used to make in my pre-vegan days. It came out perfect and the Omni loved it, which is a good thing considering I made a huge batch of it.

Ingredients
1 cup TVP
2 cups vegetable broth
1 small yellow onion, chopped
3 T tomato paste
1 chipotle chile in adobo, chopped
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
2 teaspoons cumin
3 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons liquid smoke
28 ounces diced tomatoes
10 ounces rotel
8 ounces frozen corn
15 ounces black beans (for thicker chili, do not drain)
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves

Preheat oven to 350. Place corn on a baking sheet and drizzle with a little olive oil. Bake corn in the oven for approximately 10 minutes or until corn just begins to brown. Remove and set aside.

Start with a few tablespoons of oil in a large pot, add onions, garlic and sautee for a few minutes. Add salt, spices and sautee for a few more minutes. Add veg broth, TVP and tomato paste, cover and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer until most of the liquid is absorbed and reduced. Reduce heat to medium-low and add diced tomatoes, rotel, sugar, chipotle, liquid smoke, corn and black beans, stir occasionally. Cover and simmer for at least an hour. I like to simmer mine for hours, but it’s not really necessary. Garnish with vegan sour cream and cilantro.

2 Responses to “VeganMofo: A Lazy Weekend from the Pantry”


  1. That chili looks darn good!

  2. Sanja Says:

    Ah, that popcorn looks so yummy!


Leave a Reply

