VeganMofo: Blackened Seitan over Cajun Alfredo

October 16, 2008


So after kicking around the house all day, we’re all still sick over here, I decided that I’m going to change it up next week. I’m going to postpone Vegan Holiday until the last week in this month. I’m taking a page from another blog and her recession proof vegan pantry and I’m going to have a pantry week. I’ll still need to go to the store for diapers, non-dairy and produce, but I’m limiting myself to $35 rather than our usual $150.

After some pantry style inspiration, I came up with last night’s dinner. I used the seitan I had already made up (VWAV recipe). The alfredo sauce I thought was going to be a little trickier, but it came out pretty close, even the Omni said he loved it and the proof was that he took the leftovers for lunch today. Here’s how I did it –

Cajun “Alfredo
1/2 cup vegan margarine
1 1/2 tbsp. cornstarch dissolved in 1 1/2 cup soy milk
about 4 oz. Tofutti Cream Cheese
1 tsp minced garlic or mince a clove or two
1 tsp blackening seasoning (or more depending on how spicy you want it)
Salt and pepper

Melt the margarine in a sauce pan. Once melted a bubbling add the cornstarch and soymilk mixture a little at a time stirring constantly. Once all of the milk is added and mixture begins to thicken, add cream cheese and continue stirring. Once cream cheese has melted, add garlic and seasoning and stir well allowing mixure to bubble and then reduce heat. Here is where I added a 1/2 cup of black beans, sliced mushrooms that I browned in a seperate pan and a handful of fresh spinach. While this was simmering, I sliced a few of the seitan cutlets and seasoned them with blackening seasoning. I browned them in a pan with a little olive oil only turning after a nice crust had developed. This was another quick and easy meal. I served it with whole wheat pasta. The entire meal took under 30 minutes.

5 Responses to “VeganMofo: Blackened Seitan over Cajun Alfredo”

  1. mihl Says:

    I should’t look at your pictures right after coming home hungry. The alfredo/seitan combination looks fantastic!

  2. jenitreehugger Says:

    YES!!!!!!
    That looks sooooo freaking good!
    And you made that whilst being poorly!!
    I am seriously impressed.

  3. niftymom Says:

    This looks sooooo good, I can’t wait to be able to have “alredo” again!

  4. Kelly Says:

    That looks really tasty. I may have to try this recipe soon. I am thinking of doing a pantry week myself next week. Mine is so full that I can’t get anything out of it without everything falling over and given the current state of the economy, scaling down my grocery shop for a week wouldn’t hurt. Thanks for sharing the yummy photos.

  5. sheree Says:

    Cool idea! I should really do a pantry week too. Love alfredo and it sounds perfect!


Leave a Reply

