VeganMofo: Lazy stir-fry and some falafel

October 15, 2008


Since my veganversion, I’ve come to really appreciate the versitility and ease of the stir-fry. It can be done any number of ways with whatever you have in the fridge. I actually made one of these for lunch for the omni parents on my visit this weekend. I used tempeh (yes I fed them tempeh!), squash, zucchini, matchstick carrots, portobello and Bragg’s. They liked it and my father actually served himself a second bowl. My mother said that it was edible, but she’d perfer to have chicken with it. I responded that this meal was healthier and didn’t contribute to the suffering of animals. She rolled her eyes at me. The visit didn’t go as badly as I was anticipating so that’s a plus. My mother did ask me how much fish I was eating and when I said none, she must have said one of the dumbest statements I’ve heard since I became vegan. Here’s how the conversation went –

Mom – Why aren’t you eating fish? Fish is healthy!
Me – Fish is still meat.
Mom – No, it’s not. It’s fish, it’s not like it has four legs or anything.
Me – speechless for a second
Me – It’s still an animal mom and my commitment involves all animals.
Mom – Well, I hope this doesn’t last too long. Don’t you think you’re being a bit ridiculous?
Me – No, mom, I don’t.

What I wanted to say was – THANKS FOR THE FORKING SUPPORT MOM. But, hey, I’m trying to be as non-confrontational about this as possible. She is my mother and no matter how different our beliefs may be, I still love her. The whole four legs comment almost had me laughing at her, but I didn’t think the superior attitude would go over well either. The great thing about this converstation is that when I relayed it to the Omni, he responded like I did. I may be rubbing off on him after all!

Back to the food, in our weakened state over here in sickville, I decided that a quick stir-fry was the best way to go last night. I threw together some tempeh, squash, broccoli, shiitake, carrots and Bragg’s (love that stuff) and fed everyone last night. Of course the Omni, foodie that he is, drowned the whole thing in tabasco, blech, but he ate it.

So, after blog surfing for the last week or so, I decided that I NEEDED some falafel. I did it the lazy way, but it still came out wonderful. There really is nothing like a good falafel. I prefer mine with mediterranean pickles and greek yogurt sauce. I made a vegan version of the yogurt sauce which turned out sweeter than the regular version, but it was still good. I used plain soy yogurt, diced cucumber, minced garlic, lemon juice, dill, salt and pepper. I also didn’t have pita and just used a tortilla, whatever works right?

6 Responses to “VeganMofo: Lazy stir-fry and some falafel”

  1. jessy Says:

    don’t you just want to roll your eyes when family says stuff like that. it’s like you want to say, “come on – you’re family! you’re not supposed to harass me about this!”

    that’s so cool that your dad had seconds! the stir-fry looks awesome! and i quite like the idea of using a tortilla for the falafel! i might have to try that, pita bread is nice sometimes – but i feel like with a tortilla you get to taste more of that falafel goodness! mmmmmmmmmm!

  2. mihl Says:

    Sorry about your mom! When I first became vegetarian, my mom was very angry at me for about two weeks. When I became vegan, she fully supported me. So maybe your mom will change her mind too.
    P.S. I think I would have loved your beautiful stir fry and the delicious falafel!


  3. Online communities have been my saving grace for me.
    Those falafels look amazing!

  4. Agnes =)) Says:

    Hey!! I know how it is with NOT SUPPORTIVE PARENTS heh 😉 My parents were a bit like that first when I became vegetarian…but now…WE’RE ALL VEGAN !!!!!!!!!!! :-DDDD

    So as you can see…time makes it…and well…you’ll convince them,I know it!! FOR SURE =D

    Yummy looking meals , great blog…inspiration!! 😀

    I’ve just started my own BLOG…. would be SO HAPPY to see a comment from you!!! Pls visit me on

    http://www.agnesworldofveganpleasures.blogspot.com

    Hope for your visit!!
    Have a nice dayy>>!!

  5. miss v Says:

    i agree about stir fry being so easy, and way easy to diversify. i went for a whole week of making different stir-frys for dinner, and each one tasted so different.

    (ps – i’m really craving falafel after that pic)

  6. Sanja Says:

    Aw, I’m sorry about your mom! Your falafel looks scrumptious though!


Leave a Reply

