VeganMofo: Lazy Seitan Tacos

October 14, 2008

Well, it seems that Lazy Vegan Week really couldn’t have been planned better. We are all sick over here. It started with the sniffles last night and this morning, us girls woke up with a full blown cold. My oldest is laying on the floor with her pillow and blanket an watching The Secret of Nimh. Yes, I love that movie too.

Anyway, on to last night’s meal, the Omni wanted soft tacos and I thought, why not? I already had some sietan in the fridge (VWAV recipe) and fresh veggies. **A little side note here, being a healthy lazy vegan takes some preparation. I usually will take one of my weekend days and prepare some of the things I know I’ll use during the week. I make seitan, wash and chop lettuce and other veggies, cook a few cups of steel cut oats, brown rice and quinoa, make a batch or two of cookie dough. It sounds like a lot, but it only takes about two hours to do everything I need to for the week and then I can just grab and go. I learned this makes everything run much smoother at dinner and lunch time when you have two impatient, starving kids. Oh and it’s always good to have a batch of cookie dough in the fridge** I browned the seitan and seasoned it from a package taco mix I got from the health food store and it was pretty tasty. My standard wrap and salad topping these days is a whipped mix of pineapple mango salsa and vegenaise. I can’t say enough about how much I love my vegenaise. These were quick and filling. It took me all of ten minutes to throw this together.

3 Responses to “VeganMofo: Lazy Seitan Tacos”

  1. jessy Says:

    oh nos – sorry everyone is sick. that stinks! i hope the colds go away soon! i also love The Secret of Nimh! hooray!

    i think your lazy seitan tacos look really rock’n! i wish i was munching on one right now. mmmmmmmm!

    we make a lot on sundays, too. i usually make a loaf of bread, prep veggies for the week, make a batch o’ brown rice, either naan or pita bread, and i cook a lot of beans up that will be used throughout the week. taking some time to prep ahead for a few hours on a sunday is sooooo worth it, i agree!

  2. Susan G Says:

    The tacos and all your food looks great. I am impressed your Omni will eat seitan. I had to laugh at your comment about the chicken nuggets and tater tots. My hubby would rather eaten a frozen dinner than anything I cook!

    Hope the parental visit wasn’t too stressful. I can relate. They left me alone for a long time but that all changed when the kids came along! It can be lonely for us, but at least we have the blogs!


  3. They look yum and I LOVE the sound of pineapple mango salsa!
    Sorry to hear everyone’s so poorly – hope you’re all better soon.


Leave a Reply

