VeganMofo: Vegan Lite – Baked Tofu & Garlic Kale

October 11, 2008

Last night I really wanted something light to eat since I broke my vegan lite week with some molasses cookies. Hey, I made them with splenda and whole wheat flour, so they were kinda healthy. I combed through Vegan with a Vengeance and Veganomicon and decided to go with something uber simple. The baked tofu from Vcon was excellent and the flavor was mild. I think next time I’ll marinate it first. I’ve been dying to try the garlic kale from VWAV and bought some kale yesterday strictly for this recipe. I did change a few minor things with the tahini dressing. I decided to make it into a sauce and threw the whole thing into a small sauce pot. I did add a bit of agave nectar because it seemed too salty. The end result was wonderful and I will make it again. I was really full after eating this despite not having a carb for this meal. I was also surprised that the kale wasn’t bitter like most other greens. Needless to say that husband wouldn’t go near this meal with a ten foot pole. He’d rather have chicken nuggets and tater tots, can you see me rolling my eyes over here?

On another note, I’m taking the girls to see my parents today. I’m a little apprehensive. I’m going to have to bring food for all of us. The girls have been eating vegetarian with me. My oldest lives on dairy or I’d feed her a vegan diet. She has a texture issue with meat so she’s never really eaten it and it wasn’t a difficult transition. I’m just dreading my parents noticing that the girls aren’t eating meat right along with me. I’ve already had numerous phone conversations with my mother about how people need animal protein to be healthy and blah, blah, blah. I’m sure she’ll really go off the deep end when she sees the girls aren’t eating meat. I guess I’m hoping that if we can get these first few months out of the way, that things will settle down between my family and I. They don’t understand why I am doing this, they don’t care to be informed and my mother has almost a cover the ear type response to anything that has to do with animal rights. She doesn’t want to know and would rather live in ignorance, that’s fine with me. I just wish that she’d stop with the lectures and complete disdain.

3 Responses to “VeganMofo: Vegan Lite – Baked Tofu & Garlic Kale”

  1. miss v Says:

    baked tofu – i have yet to try it. but it looks delicious!

  2. Sal Says:

    I still haven’t made that garlic kale yet but I must cuz it sounds awesome!

    I hear you on the lectures and disdain. It’s been nearly a year since I went vegan and my friends and family have definitely got more understanding but every now and then my mum or my brother or a friend’s boyfriend cracks and they bust out the old ‘humans need to eat animals’ lectures. sigh.

  3. Monique Says:

    Good luck with the parents! And your dinner sounds great.


Leave a Reply

