VeganMofo: Vegan Lite – Roasted Seitan & Winter Veg

October 7, 2008

Vegan Lite begins this week and I thought I’d start the week off with a simple oven roasted dish. I had fun veganizing comfort food last week, but I can’t eat heavy meals like that every night. I think that in my quest to lure my omni husband over to the veg side, I put alot of focus on meat analogs and carbs and the vegetables some how got the back seat. Vegan Lite will bring the vegetables back into the spot light and focus on healthy but filling dishes that are lower in fat, carbs and calories. It’s easy to go off the deep end with all of the wonderfully decadent vegan food and start packing on the pounds. I wanted to familiarize myself with healthy vegan fare as well. I do have to say that I won’t be making this dish exactly as it stands in the future. I really wanted to like the brussel sprout, but it’s just not a pleasing flavor for me. I think I’ll leave that out and add some winter squash next time.

Roasted Seitan and Winter Veg

1 cup cubed seitan (I used the yellowrose recipe again, can’t get enough of that stuff!)
3 turnips peeled and cubed
1 cup whole baby carrots
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
1 cup fresh cauliflower florets
1 cup fresh brussel sprouts halved and stemmed
1 cup vegeatable broth
1 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon thyme
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon canola oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Lightly brown seitan in a pan using canola oil. Add seitan and vegetables to a 9×13 glass baking dish and toss with olive oil. Add seasoninns and garlic to the vegetable broth, mix well and then pour over vegetables and seitan. Cover with foil and bake for 25-30 minutes. Carefully remove from oven and drain liquid. Replace foil and bake for an additional 15-20 minutes.

**Notes-If you want a more stew-like dish, instead of draining liquid after 25 minutes add a 1/2 cup of cold water with 1 tablespoon of cornstarch dissolved in it and stir. Recover and bake for the remaining time. You can serve this over mashed potatoes or your favorite grain, but I found this filling all on it’s own.

5 Responses to “VeganMofo: Vegan Lite – Roasted Seitan & Winter Veg”

  1. Destiny Says:

    Yummy comfort food!

  2. Tami Says:

    That looks like a wonderful fall meal!


  3. Hot diggity dawg! That looks soooooo good!

  4. Monique Says:

    That really looks good. I’m gonna buy YRR next week. Seriously, I don’t know why I don’t own it already.

  5. bex Says:

    that looks so yummy. Cozy fall goodness.


Leave a Reply

