serious mofo comfort

October 4, 2008


I can’t wait for the weather to cool off here in Florida. This is the perfect dish for a chilly night. I decided to try my hand at the vegan pot pie. It was so delicious I wanted to savor every bite. I can honestly say that I have never had a pot pie this good. My omni husband complimented me on a week of fabulous meals, but he said this has by far been his favorite.

Pot Pie

Ingredients
2 premade vegan pie shells – you can make your own pastry, I decided to cheat with the one premade shell and make the pastry for the top crust using a recipe from Veganomicon.
1 seitan cutlet cut into small cubes – I used seitan that I made from the recipe at yellow rose recipes
1 cup sliced fresh mushroom
2 small potatoes peeled and diced
1/2 to 3/4 cup sliced carrots
1/2 to 3/4 cup peas
1 1/2 cups cold water
1 T corn starch
2 teaspoons minced dried onion (you can also use fresh onion)
1 vegan “chicken” bullion cube
1 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 deg.
In a large pot sautee seitan with a little olive oil until it starts to brown then add mushrooms. I totally cheat on the potato and carrot and microwave it for two minutes to par-cook it before I put it in with the seitan, this saves you from having potato and carrot that’s undercooked in your pot pie. Add potatoes, peas and carrots in with the seitan and mushroom and sautee adding a little oil as necessary. Add bullion and stir until mixed with the vegetables.

Add cornstarch to the water in a seperate cup and stir until dissolved. Add water/corn starch mixture and spices to the pot and stir until blended. Simmer on low until it begins to thicken then remove from heat and set aside to cool for a few minutes. Pour mixture into prepared pie shell and then cover with second pie shell sealing edges with a fork. Be sure to pierce the crust with a few holes to allow steam to escape. Place pie on a cookie sheet and bake for 30-45 minutes.

One Response to “serious mofo comfort”


  1. WOW! What a pretty pie and it looks delicious to.
    This is on my list of things to make.
    🙂


Leave a Reply

