who doesn’t need a little comfort?

October 1, 2008

One of my husband’s all time favorite meals is chicken fried steak, mashed potato, gravy and corn. Yeah I know, it’s like heart attack on a plate. I decided to do a vegan version of this southern classic. Now, I have to tell you bein’ a southern gal and all, I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t be able to get this to taste as good as the classic version. The gravy was a concern since my standard version of country gravy was loaded with cream and drippings from the fried steak. And my new vegan self just physically shuddered at that last sentence, blech. I decided to go with the “chicken” version of seitan from here that I already had made up.

breading
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup corn meal
liberal dashes of your favorite season salt (I used Seminole Swamp Seasoning)
as much pepper as you like (we like to use alot!)

gravy
1 cup Rich’s Coffee Rich
1 cup water
1 cube vegan “chicken” bullion
1 teaspoon minced onion (I keep some dried minced onion in my pantry)
2 T all purpose flour
1/2-1/4 teaspoon salt (depending on your taste)
as much ground pepper as you can stand (it’s all about the pepper in southern gravy)

Make sure that the seitan is pretty damp before you toss it in the breading and make sure it is coated well on both sides. Brown in a pan using enough canola oil (or vegetable oil) to pool in the bottom of the pan, on medium heat. Make sure that you preheat the oil before putting the seitan in the pan and that you keep the heat on medium to med low. You don’t want the oil or the pan to get too hot and turn seitan as needed.

For the gravy, pour Rich’s and water into a small sauce pan with the minced onion and heat to barely a boil. Add bullion and wisk until blended. Reduce heat to a simmer and add season salt and pepper. Sprinkle in flour a little bit at a time while using your wisk. Continue to wisk until flour is blended and gravy is thick. Depending on how you like your gravy, you may want to add a little more flour or a little more water. Southern gravy isn’t an exact science. I usually keep a measuring cup of water and some shaker flour next to me as I’m making this and I add what I need until I get the right consistency. If you add water and flour you may also need to add salt and pepper. Added note that when I’m craving a little more flavor to my gravy, I’ll add a 1/2 teaspoon of thyme.

I serve this with frozen corn and regular mashed potatoes. I use Rich’s when I make my mashed as well as Earth’s Balance and copious amounts of pepper. You may need to loosen a button or two after this meal! My super picky omni husband loved this meal. He even took the leftovers for lunch the next day, he liked it that much!

5 Responses to “who doesn’t need a little comfort?”

  1. Jon Tillman Says:

    Yes, yes and more yes. You are responsible for another excited Southern vegan!

  2. Monique Says:

    Hot damn! I am so down with that!

  3. bex Says:

    This looks soooo good. I’m drooling here.


  4. What is Rich’s Coffee Rich?
    The chicken looks yum!

  5. niftymom Says:

    OK so I finally made this! SOO soo soooo good! Jon even liked it. I made a mistake but it still turned out very yummy. You’ll laugh at me when I tell you what happend.lol.


Leave a Reply

