this is the week

September 29, 2008

Veganmofo begins this week. I’m excited and I have to say after some thought, friendly advice and blog surfing, I’ve come up with a plan for the month.

Week 1: Vegan Comfort – a combination of old favorites that I’ll veganize and new recipes from favorite vegan cookbooks to help me sway my skeptical omni husband to the veg side!
Week 2: Vegan Lite – healthy vegan fare and low carb options, because if I keep baking and cooking like I am now, I’m going to be one fat vegan!
Week 3: The Lazy Vegan – easy and good vegan meals that can be made without alot of time, because let’s face it, with two small children, I don’t always have time for grand vegan meals.
Week 4: Vegan Holiday – since the holidays are fast approaching and this will be my first holiday season as a vegan, I need to experiment with good omni friendly dishes.

And so it begins! I’m going to begin each week with a pantry check and a list of things I’ll be using for the week. I’m sure I’ll have to edit that list a few times, but I’ll do my best to keep it updated with the ingredients I’m using. I’m also going to try and note how long it takes to prepare each meal so that you know what you’re getting into before you start. I can’t wait to see what everyone else is doing this month.

4 Responses to “this is the week”

  1. bex Says:

    those sound good. They should give a good overall view of what it’s like to eat vegan (how all encompassing and easy it can be)

  2. Monique Says:

    Yes! I am super excited as well! I’m about to get my ingredients. I’m looking forward to your posts. -mo

  3. eesh Says:

    Sounds really good! I should have thought up a plan before jumping into this. I guess I’ll just play it by ear and hope for the best! Can’t wait to see what you cook up.

    Oh and thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  4. k Says:

    Hi, just checking out your blog since you commented on mine. You are one organized mofo. I love your schedule, definitely will stay tuned, especially for weeks lite and lazy. Good luck with your first vegan holiday season!


Leave a Reply

