for the love of seitan

September 28, 2008

A friend of mine sent me a new recipe and since I’m all about the seitan these days I wanted to try it out. It’s a different cooking method than the previous one I posted. The texture came out wonderful, tender and meaty. It’s very tomatoey, is that even a word? I will definitely make this again only I’ll use less tomato paste and I think I’ll play around with the seasoning. I doubled the recipe so that I would have some to freeze. One can never have enough seitan!

Ingredients:
1.5 cups vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cumin
1-2 tsp pepper (I use 2 tsp)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (you can use 1/8 tsp if you like it less spicy)
1/8 tsp allspice

3/4 cups water
4 tbsp tomato paste
3 tbsp Bragg’s
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves minced garlic

Preheat oven to 325°.
In a large mixing bowl mix dry ingredients. Mix the rest of the ingredients (liquid ingredients) in a smaller mixing bowl. Whisk well until mixed.

Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients. Mix well, then knead for a minute or two.. it doesn’t need long.

Form into a log (7-8″ longish), wrap tightly in foil, twisting ends. Bake for about 80 minutes. When done baking, unwrap and leave out to cool all the way. Then wrap it foil or plastic and refrigerate. Slice to use as desired.

Nutritional Info
One entire log has:
1134 calories
32g fat
63g carbs
158g protein

Leave a Reply

