someone please stop me…

September 27, 2008


before I eat this whole cake. I was experimenting during vegan cooking hour and I came up with this pumpkin cream cheese coffee cake. It is sooo good. If you make this, beware. It will call to you.

Filling
8 ounces vegan cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla

Topping
1 stick of Earths Balance softened
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt

Batter
1 stick Earths Balance softened
1 cup sugar
5 tablespoons canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup soy/rice/almond milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×13 inch glass baking dish.
For Filling: In a bowl with an electric mixer beat together cream cheese, lemon juice, and vanilla and beat until smooth. Set aside.
Topping: In a small bowl blend together Earths Balance, sugar, flour, spice and salt. Set aside.
Batter: In another bowl with an electric mixer beat together EB and sugar. Beat in pumpkin and vanilla and beat on high speed until light and fluffy.
In another bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt and in batches slowly beat into wet mixture alternately with milk.
Assemble: Spread half of the batter in bottom of baking dish. Add a smaller layer of filling on the top leaving an inch or two of space around the edge.
Drop spoonfuls of remaining batter on filling and spread evenly (be careful not to mix layers).
Sprinkle or drizzle topping evenly over batter (I was playing with the recipe and the topping was pretty soft by the time I started to assemble the cake. I ended up drizzling it over the top with a teaspoon. Bake coffeecake in middle of oven for about 45 minutes, until golden and a tester comes out clean. My oven runs about 50 deg. too hot, so you’re baking time may vary from mine.

3 Responses to “someone please stop me…”

  1. bex Says:

    I bet this is good. I recently made a pumpkin cheesecake icecream that was deadly and I don’t usually even like pumpkin all that much. I’ll have to try this too.


  2. No. You. Didn’t. I MUST try this at my job. People will go ga-ga over it! Thank you for sacrificing yourself for the recipe. :o)

  3. April Says:

    Darn you and your vegan dessert evilness! 😉


Leave a Reply

