undercover tvp and my seitan addiction

September 22, 2008

Well after so many comments from the husband about weird tasting vegan cooking, I decided to go on an undercover mission. I took a favorite comfort food recipe of his and veganized it. Hungarian goulash makes a pretty good vegan meal. I used the tvp chorizo recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance and changed the spices to fit the goulash. I used that as my base and followed the tradtional recipe from there only adding a bit of nooch for flavor because lets face it, nooch is good on everything. It came out perfect. I served Nathan a huge bowl of this and he loved it. His only comment was to ask if I would leave the meat in larger chunks next time (insert evil grin here). He still doesn’t know and I think I’ll wait a few days to tell him that it’s vegan goulash and not the traditional recipe I usually make. I really wanted to experiment with this recipe and I couldn’t be happier with the way it turned out. We always have a spooky Halloween dinner where I make a themed meal. This year I want to do “Ghoulash” in a pumpkin. It’ll make a perfect entree for Halloween. Now I just have to get creative on veganizing other recipes to go with it. If anyone is curious about the goulash recipe please leave a comment and I’ll post it!

On to my seitan addiction. I love, love, love seitan. I’ve been craving it ever since I made my first batch last week. I decided to make a new batch using a different recipe this week. I used the one from VWAV subbing Bragg’s for soy sauce and simmering it on low for 3 hours with an herb teabag that I made. It came out nice and tender. The texture and flavor are wonderful. I will use this recipe again. I still have a half batch of the other “chicken” version I made last week in the freezer. I’m going to be up to my ears in seitan, haha. My little ones love it and it makes great finger food for them.

This was lunch today and oh so yummy! It’s just a simple salad of romaine, matchstick carrots, alfalfa sprouts, campari tomato, pan seared seitan and topped with dry roasted edamame. I used my current favorite dressing which is nothing more than veganaise whipped with peach salsa.

3 Responses to “undercover tvp and my seitan addiction”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I’d like to have the ghoulash recipe! 🙂 Looks delish.


  2. Always do right; this will gratify some and astonish the rest.MarkTwainMark Twain

  3. Good Recipes Says:

    Our time is so short and the future so terrifyingly long. Through the art of brush, pen, and lens … we possess a swift and sure means of touching the conscience and clearing the vision.AnselAdamsAnsel Adams


Leave a Reply

