Sold my soul to seitan…

September 18, 2008

I decided to do some experimenting in the kitchen. One can’t survive on tofu alone. So with wooden spoon in hand, Vegan with a Vengeance on my counter and a freshly stocked vegan pantry, I set out on a vegan culinary adventure. My goal was simple, make some amazing food to tempt my carnivorous husband over to the dark side. I used this recipe for seitan. It was easy to follow and I was genuinely shocked by how much I liked it after the meal was complete. In fact, if I keep cooking like this, Imma be one fat vegan!


And so my journey began with vital wheat gluten, wholewheat flour and nutrional yeast.


The dough was very spongy and at this point I was very skeptical.


I didn’t have parchment paper or a rolling pin for that matter. I used tin foil and a large glass bottle. Who needs proper kitchen utensils?


Here are the patties resting in a pot of cold water with my little herb tea bag.


Here is the seitan an hour after simmering. I never did let it boil. All of the tips I read, cautioned cooking at too high a temperature. I sort of just let them poach on low and after an hour, they were finished.


Here is the finished product. This is pan fried seitan breaded with whole wheat flour and seasoned. I served this with pasta made with a spinach, mushroom, garlic cream sauce. The “cream” sauce was tasty. I did add a few extra tbs of cream cheese and some corn starch to the sauce to thicken it.

One Response to “Sold my soul to seitan…”

  1. Charmed Says:

    Hi there. I stumbled across your blog via the tag surfer. Wow your pasta looks good. Am a huge pasta fan.


Leave a Reply

