On being vegan

September 14, 2008

In my journey to veganize my life, I’ve learned so much about myself and the things that make up my daily life. Learning where things come from and how they are made is an eye opening experience. The task of converting to a vegan lifestyle is daunting considering how many things that I use on a daily basis that are made with animal by products or are not cruelty free. I thought the diet would be the difficult part, but suprisingly, it’s been easy. I can’t help but smile about this decision I’ve made and that I can make a difference, no matter how small. I do not have the current support of certain family members who think my decision is part of my “bleeding heart liberalism”. Can you see me rolling my eyes over here?

And can I ask, what is with the elitest attitude of some vegans? Not vegan enough for you? Don’t get me wrong, I have received very warm and encouraging words from some veteran vegans. There are a select few, who seem to have more criticism than helpful advice. I know that it is difficult and it takes alot of dedication to convert to a vegan lifestyle. I don’t eat any type of animal product and I am starting to convert the rest of my household to agree with my lifestyle choice. We still have meat in the house and I still have to purchase it at the store during weekly shopping trips. My husband is not making this transition with me. According to some, this disqualifies me as a true vegan. I say whatever. I am hoping that Nathan will gradually start to see the benefits of a vegetarian diet. He’s not the “crusader” that his wife is, those are his words. He doesn’t have much of an opinon about the meat and dairy industry and that’s okay. I think that eventually he’ll make some choices for himself after he sees that I’m not depriving myself. He’s already decided to start going to the gym and he has sworn off cigarettes and fast food. Those are huge steps for him and I couldn’t be more proud of him. Back to my original point, the fact that we have animal products in our home and that I still have to buy them, doesn’t make me a vegan in the eyes of some of the more militant vegans out there. Eh, do I really care? No, I don’t. I didn’t do this so that I could be accepted in to their club. I did this for me. I did this to make a stand and because my life will be better for it. I did this to set a better example for my daughters and to make a difference, even if it’s only a small one. Vegan enough for me.

One Response to “On being vegan”

  1. melissatsang Says:

    Vegan enough for me too! I live in the same situation as you, when my family thinks all my stuff is weird and nasty except oatmeal cookies of v’con. (:


Leave a Reply

