The Veggie Challenge

May 21, 2009

I have a confession to make. I have not been the healthiest vegan these last few months and while I haven’t gained any weight, my body just doesn’t feel like it used to. I’ve been tired, sluggish, bloated and just all around feeling kind of yuck. I know it’s my diet. I have been eating alot of baked sweets, grains and gluten. I’ve also been drinking alot of diet soda and even started drinking coffee again. The fact that I am so tired screams that my diet desperately needs an overhaul. I decided to come up with The Veggie Challenge. My diet will consist of fruits, veggies, nuts and legumes. I think that I might include tofu to allow myself a little bit of versatility. I’m going to force myself to give up the diet soda, which is my biggest weakness. I’m also going to switch back to tea and increase my water intake. I’m tired of feeling exhausted all the time. I’m kind of excited to get back to basics, but I know that I am desperately going to miss seitan and sweets. Not eating the usual grains means I’m going to have to get creative with potatoes and other root veggies. I just know that something has to change. I don’t have enough energy to keep up with my kids and it’s summer time. I need that energy! I’ve been relying on my vitamin suppliments too long. It’s time to get those vitamins in my diet as well. I was planning to give myself two weeks before I reintroduce grains and bread. I just know that I have to force myself to create meals where vegetables are the focus. It’s been too long where I have been a vegan pretty much eating in classic omni fashion - meals of primarily protein and carb. Well, no more! I’m sure I’ll be posting away these next few weeks.

4 Responses to “The Veggie Challenge”

  1. jessy Says:

    diet soda = my weakness as well. i try and be good and only have one a day, but still – not very good for me! argh! perhaps i’ll be brave and give it up soon – i know i should!

    fo ‘sho sometimes grains, and especially breads (gluten) & sugary stuff (all so deeeelicious! i have issues with cookies! ahahahaha!) make me super sluggish as well. about a month ago when our csa started up we began eating a helluva lot more veggies (i think i probably eat about 12 servings a day now) and the first thing i noticed was how much more energized i was! i think your veggie challenge sounds gloriously awesome – and i can’t wait to see all the yummies you create! yay!

  2. Mo Says:

    I’m completely with you! At the beginning of the month I switched over to high raw so that I didn’t feel so sluggish and weighed down.

    Good luck on the new change!

  3. Susan G Says:

    I’ll be interested to see your upcoming posts. I have been trying to do the same for the past three weeks. I really miss bread! It will be a little easier now that summer fruit season is nearly upon us.

  4. Brandi Says:

    I can totally relate, it is easy to eat unhealthy even on a vegan diet! I just found your blog…love it! I am personally inviting my fellow vegan bloggers to enter my Arbonne Giveaway. Arbonne is a vegan certified skincare and haircare line. I hope to see your entry!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

