happy fiesta stuffed squash

May 20, 2009

 The husband’s boss has this amazing organic garden and he has been sharing all of his hard work. I suspect that it’s really his wife’s hard work, but I appreciate the sharing all the same. A few days ago he sent N. home with these beautiful, huge, yellow squash. They’ve just been sitting there begging to be used and I wanted to try something different. I scoured a few of my favorite vegan blogs and came up with an idea. I used Jessy’s happy fiesta rice mix and altered it slightly. If you haven’t been by happy vegan face, I suggest you get your butt over there and try at least one of her recipes. You won’t be disappointed. For this mix, I used dark red kidney beans, brown rice and roasted corn. It’s what I had on hand. I also used cilantro and subbed our favorite dried chipotle cubes for the sriracha. The rest of her recipe I followed including the homemade soyrizo, which is awesome by the way, and the rice mix was fab! I sliced the squash in half lengthwise, hollowed them out, stuffed them with the rice mix, topped it with vegan parm, covered and baked for about an hour at 350. I loved the end result! It was simple and made alot so I have the leftovers I am so fond of. Oh and if you notice, yes, I have a small addiction with these little side salads of baby greens, salsa and vegenaise. Don’t ask, I’m not sure what it is. I think maybe something small and fresh with heavier meals is better and easier than making side dishes. Oh and the fact that I’m lazy these days makes it pretty appealing. If they show up on many of my plates in the near future, you’ll know why.

2 Responses to “happy fiesta stuffed squash”

  1. jd Says:

    That looks really good!

    And it’s so cool that your husband’s boss/wife (LOL!) has an organic garden and is sharing the bounty!

  2. jessy Says:

    that is just too darn awesome that your husband’s boss has been sharing organic yummies from his garden with you all! wow! thanks for the super sweet shout out, and we’re so happyfaced you tried & liked the happy fiesta time rice mix! next time dan and i make this we’re totally following your lead with the cilantro and chipotle peppers! mmmmmm! i think i need to give your yummy side salad mix a try! anything with vegenaise = super yummers! w00t!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

