the second day

February 5, 2009

I swear, if I ever open a vegan restaurant, I will call it Second Day and it will be an homage to vegan dishes that benefit from a night in the fridge. There are just some foods that are better the second day, like chili, stew, seitan, I could go on and on. This gem of a second day dish, is a spin on a Veganomicon plantain stew. It’s sweet, spicy and is loved by the resident omni so you know it’s good. I’ve tweaked this enough I think that I am ready to post my doctored recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes peeled and cubed
  • 1 ripe plantain, peeled and cubed
  • 8 plum tomatoes diced
  • 1/2 yellow onion diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • 3 cups vegetable broth or water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp dried mustard
  • 2 tsp dried cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp dried chipotle
  • 2 tsp agave nectar (you could sub sugar for this)
  • 1 can of light red kidney or pinto beans drained and rinsed
  • 2 spicy seitan sausages cut up in large chunks

In a large soup pot over med heat, saute onions and garlic in a tablespoon of olive oil for about 5 minutes. Add broth, tomatoes, agave and the spices then cover and simmer for about 10 minutes stirring occasionally. Add potatoes, plantains and beans, cover and simmer for 25 -30 minutes or until potatoes are soft. You may need to keep an eye on it to make sure that the liquid doesn’t reduce too much. If it does, just add a bit of broth or water. Add the seitan sauage in the last 10 minutes of your simmer. You just want it to heat and soften a bit, but not cook too much. I serve this over millet, but you could use rice or quinoa if you prefer. I happen to think that the unique flavor of the millet lends to the flavor of this dish though. And it goes without me saying, this is better the second day!

6 Responses to “the second day”

  1. jessy Says:

    i know what you mean about second day foods, i’m with ya on that one! i find that indian food, ethiopian yummies, soups ‘n stews are even better the next day. it’s gotta be that the flavors have more time to get to know each other. soooo gooood!

    your dish looks beautiful & sounds absolutely awesome! my stupid stomach can’t handle seitan – do you think some marinated & baked tempeh would be a good substitution?! printing off your recipe now! thanks!

  2. Heather Says:

    I think tempeh would be a good sub, or even large chunk TVP. It would be just as good without though. I threw in the seitan sausage because my husband prefers it with “something meaty in there” haha.

  3. veggievixen19 Says:

    mmm.

    it’s true, lots of things are better the second day.

    you should do it! i’d totally eat at your restaurant.

  4. Melisser Says:

    I find that SO many dishes I make taste better the next day!

  5. Kiersten Says:

    I get so excited when I eat leftovers and they taste even better than the first time I ate them. I always make huge batches of soup and chili because I like them better leftover.

    Your stew sounds tasty, by the way


  6. [...] Seitan’s second day (link) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

